SC to present free Winterfest concert Sunday; ‘Eagerheart’ production via Campus Players to follow


The Southwestern College music department will present its annual Winterfest concert on Sunday, Dec. 3, at 3 p.m., in the Richardson Performing Arts Center in Winfield. There is no admission charge and the public is invited to attend.

The concert is sponsored by Gail Burden, OD, according to a press release from the college.

This year’s Winterfest is a collaboration between the Southwestern Children’s Choir, Builder Band-Its, A Cappella Choir, and the South Kansas Symphony (SKS). Conducting the program will be Simon Hill, director of choral activities and voice; Nikki Kirk, director of the Southwestern Children’s Choir; Jeremy Kirk, director of bands, and Michael Christensen, SKS conductor.

The program will feature Dr. James Leland providing organ accompaniment of Christmas Carol Hymn Singing in addition to Deanne Wehmeier accompanying the A Cappella Choir. The concert will include the SKS, A Cappella Choir, and alumni performing F. Melius Christiansen’s “Beautiful Savior.” Other selections will range from traditional to contemporary. The concert will conclude with Dan Goeller’s “Christmas Carol Sing-Along.”

Later Sunday at 6 p.m., SC’s Campus Players will present its annual production of the Christmas morality play, Eagerheart, at Grace United Methodist Church. More information on that performance can be found here.

About SC:

Southwestern College is a private liberal arts college, founded in 1885 by Methodists in south central Kansas.

Today its Winfield campus is the residential hub that guides students to lives of meaning and service, with well-rounded academic and extra-curricular offerings attracting traditional-aged students from throughout the nation and world. Southwestern College Professional Studies provides options for online students in any location and has been named a top provider for persons serving in the military.

The college continues to be affiliated with the United Methodist Church and is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission to offer bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees.