Clark Named 1st Team All-KCAC; Pond An All-Freshman Selection


Southwestern College is well represented in this year’s All-Conference selections for the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference.

Junior Cevin Clark was selected All-KCAC 1st Team.

Macy Pond, of South Haven, was selected to the All-Freshman Team in the women’s All-Conference selections for SC.

Pond finished the regular season eighth in scoring in the KCAC with 12.2 points per game.

Clark, the Ark City High grad and Cowley College alum led the conference in points per game at a clip of 24 per contest. He also led the KCAC in 3-point percentage at 45%.

Clark, who topped over 1,000 points in his Moundbuilder career earlier in the season in just 49 games, also finished the regular season with the most trips and most makes at the free throw line (151-of-178) in the KCAC and was third in the conference in free throw shooting at 84.8 percent.

NOTE: The SC men’s KCAC tournament game at No. 1 Oklahoma Wesleyan will be broadcast live on 95.9 Bob FM Saturday at 2 p.m. Curt Caden will have the call.

Nationally, Clark finished the regular season fourth in the NAIA in points-per-game. His 94 made 3-pointers ranked third in the NAIA.

In the Builders’ conference tournament win Wednesday against Bethany in Winfield, Clark scored 44 points. In the regular season finale at Friends in Wichita, he amassed 39.

Teammate and fellow junior Andrew O’Brien was selected 2nd Team All-Conference and senior Builder Deng Boll was named third team.

Senior Cooper Pierce, another Ark City Bulldog alum, was named Honorable Mention.

Boll was named on the All-KCAC Defensive Team and Zach Hidalgo was named to the All-Freshman Team.

Oklahoma Wesleyan won the regular-season conference championship with a 20-2 mark in conference play, which was part of a 25-3 overall record.

The Eagles’ Jaden Lietzke was named the KCAC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, after leading the conference in field goal percentage (70.3%), ranking sixth in the conference in points per game (15.4), fifth in total rebounds per game (7.6), and third in blocks per game (1.5). His teammate, Derrick Talton, Jr., was named the KCAC Men’s Basketball Defensive Player of the Year after ranking second in the conference in steals per game (2.8).

Justin Brookens of Bethany College was named the conference’s Newcomer of the Year. He ranked third in the KCAC in points per game (18.3), third in steals per game (2.3), and fourth in assists per game (3.3). Carmelo Yakubu of Bethel College was named the KCAC Men’s Basketball Freshman of the Year. Yakubu averaged 10.3 points per game, 5.4 rebounds per game, and 1.7 assists per game.

Anthony Monson, the head coach at Kansas Wesleyan University, was named the conference’s Coach of the Year by his peers.