Several Builders selected for KCAC All-League honors


The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference released its all-league selections last week and Southwestern College in Winfield was well-represented.

The Moundbuilders finished the season 8-3 — SC’s third straight season of eight wins or more. In the 2020 COVID year that featured spring games, the Builders finished 7-2.

Senior wide receiver Andre Jones and senior offensive lineman Earon Garcia were named first-team offense while another pair of SC seniors, defensive lineman Shane Rodriguez and linebacker Josh Carter, were first-team defense selections.

Sophomore defensive back Deago Stubbs represented the Builders as a second-team defensive pick while 13 teammates were honorable mentions, including senior quarterback Braden Howell.

K’Vonte Baker of Friends University was named the KCAC Football Player of the Year.

Baker led the KCAC and NAIA in rushing touchdowns (25), while ranking first in the KCAC and third in the NAIA in rushing yards per game (115.3). Baker led a Falcon offense that led the nation in rushing (419.2 yards per game) and was the third-highest scoring offense in the NAIA (46.3 points per game).

Dillon Hester of Evangel University earned the KCAC Football Offensive Player of the Year honor, leading the conference in receiving yards per game (90.8) and receiving touchdowns (13). He ranks 10th in the NAIA in receiving yards per game and is tied for fourth in the nation in receiving touchdowns.

His teammate, Bradley Myers, took home the KCAC Football Defensive Player of the Year award following a season in which he led the NAIA in total tackles (139) and tackles per game (12.6). He also tallied 11.5 tackles for loss on the season, including 4.5 sacks. Myers also forced three fumbles this season.

Trey Dixon of Sterling College was named the KCAC Football Special Teams Player of the Year. Dixon returned 28 kicks for 733 yards, good for a 26.2-yard average, scoring two kick return touchdowns this season.

Mario Quintero of Bethel College was named the Dr. Ted Kessinger Champion of Character award recipient.

Jeremy Desoto, the defensive coordinator for Evangel, was named the KCAC Football Assistant Coach of the Year, while the Valor’s head coach, Chuck Hepola, was named the Coach of the Year by his peers.