Clark A Finalist For Top Small College Basketball Player In The Nation


Southwestern Junior Cevin Clark continues to be in the running for the Bevo Francis Award for top small college men’s basketball player.

Clark, who named to to the Top 100 watchlist for the honor in January, was recently named a Top 25 finalist for the award by Small College Basketball and the National Awards Committee.

The Ark City High School product averaged 34.6 points per game in SC’s last six games. The No. 22 Moundbuilders won the KCAC Tournament and notched an NAIA Tournament win before their season ended in the second round against Langston University.

The Bevo Francis Top 25 Watch List consists of some of the top players from the NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA, USCAA and NCCAA.

“Congratulations to the 25 players selected for the Bevo Francis Award Watch List,” John McCarthy of Small College Basketball said. “There are approximately 13,000-16,000 players that play college basketball at the small college levels, and to be among the 25 players on this list, is obviously a very high honor.

“Based on our selection criteria, each of these players has earned their spot on this list, and they have had — or are still having —  a phenomenal season. I am very grateful for the time and insight from our committee.”

Last season, Manhattan, Kan., graduate Trevor Hudgins of Northwest Missouri State University was last year’s winner.

Hudgins was signed last year by the Houston Rockets.

On April 1st, the finalists of this year’s award will be announced, followed by the Bevo Francis Award winner being crowned on April 3rd .

The Bevo Francis Awards Committee consists of the following coaches: Gary Stewart – Stevenson (MD), Chris Briggs – Georgetown College (KY), Bill Dreikosen – Rocky Mountain (MT), Mark Berokoff – Oklahoma City, Mike Donnelly – Florida Southern, Sam Hargraves – Olivet, Stephen Brennan –
Babson, Richard Westerlund – Great Lakes Christian, Chase Teichmann – Florida College, Aaron Siebenthall – Ottawa (KS), Tae Norwood – Humboldt State, Mark Vanderslice – USC-Aiken, Grant Leep, Seattle Pacific, Matt O’Brien – Southwestern (KS), Chris Wright – Langston (OK), Nathan Champion – LeMoyne.

2022-23 Bevo Francis Award Top 25 Watch List

Kaden Anderson 6’8” Sr. Point Loma Nazarene
Diego Bernard 6’0” Sr. NW MO State
Jalen Brooks 6’5” Sr. LSU-Shreveport
Bryce Butler 6’5” Jr. West Liberty
Frank Champion 6’7” So. North Georgia
Cevin Clark 5’11” Jr. Southwestern (KS)
Tyshaun Crawford 7’1” Sr. Augusta
Tyson Cruickshank 5’11” Sr. Wheaton (IL)
Zach Goodline 6’1” Sr. Huntington
Jeff Hunter 6’7” Sr. Keene State
Josiah Johnson 6’1” Sr. Mary Hardin Baylor
KJ Jones 6’6” Jr. Emmanuel (GA)
Brandon Knapper 6’0” Sr. Cal State San Bernardino
Akuel Kot 6’2” Jr. Fort Lewis
Zach Laput 6’4” Jr. Bentley
Jaden Lietzke 6’7” Jr. Oklahoma Wesleyan
Miles Mallory 6’5” Jr. Randolph-Macon
Sam Masten 6’2” Sr. Northern State
Riley Minix 6’7” Sr. Southeastern (FL)
Christian Parker 6’6” Jr. Mount Union
Joel Scott 6’7” Sr. Black Hills State
Matt Simpson 6’1” Sr. Florida College
Alex Sobel 6’8” Sr. Middlebury
RJ Sunahara 6’8” Jr. Nova Southeastern
Mason Walters 6’9” Sr. Jamestown