Hall of Fame inductions and more slated for SC’s Founders Day weekend April 18-20


Graduates and retired faculty will be inducted into four halls of fame during the annual Founders Day weekend at Southwestern College in Winfield Thursday-Saturday, April 18-20.

According to a news release from SC, the celebration will include recognition of inductees entering the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame for the Social Sciences, as well as the Fine Arts, Business, and Educators Halls of Fame.

Festivities will begin at 4 p.m., on Thursday, April 18, with the annual Honors Convocation in Richardson Performing Arts Center. The featured speaker will be Kalaba Chali, district superintendent for the Wichita East and West districts in the Great Plains Conference of the United Methodist Church.

On Friday, April 19, plaques will be unveiled for the Leaders in Service Hall of Fame for the Social Sciences. Dinner will begin at 5:30 p.m. in Deets Library with the induction ceremony to follow. Meal cost is $25.

On Saturday, April 20, a reception will be held for the Business Hall of Fame in the Christy lobby at 8:30 a.m., with the induction ceremony to begin at 8:45 a.m. in Richardson Performing Arts Center.


A reception for the Fine Arts Hall of Fame inductees will begin at 10:15 a.m. in the Christy lobby, followed immediately by the induction ceremony at 10:30 a.m. The ceremony will take place in Richardson Performing Arts Center.

At 12 p.m. in Deets Library, there will be a luncheon for the Educators Hall of Fame inductees. Lunch cost is $25. At 12:45 p.m., the induction ceremony for the Educators Hall of Fame will begin, also in Deets Library.

Individuals entering the various halls of fame include:

· Leaders in Service: Claudia Geer, retired faculty; Paul Bean ’85; and Willie Williams ’68.

· Fine Arts: Roxy (Clark) Callison ’69/’91, and Roberta (Gilger) Banks ’72.

· Business: Dick Barnes, retired faculty, and Alex Gottlob ’09. Business Builder award will be presented to Timber Creek Floral and Gifts.

· Educators: Stephen Peebles ’89 and Anita (Jantz) Ewart ’74.

Southwestern College hall of fame displays are located in Mossman Hall, Darbeth Fine Arts Center, Beech Science Center, Deets Library, and Stewart Field House.